Mommy Dojo Kanban: Day 5 – Slow down, to Speed up

I had lunch with a friend today who has been following the Mommy Dojo posts. He’s been inspired to try something new on his blog himself (Go on – do it!) as a result. That makes me very happy.

He commented on the disappointment that was Day 4, and how that quintessential “bad day” is common to all projects, both big and small. The issue is not having a bad day – it’s how you come back from it, right? Which reminds me of a very appropriate quote in the context of my training:

“It’s not about how hard you can hit, but about how hard you can get hit and still keep moving forward.” ~ Rocky Balboa

So how have I come back from my Bad Friday?

What did I plan to do on Day 5? (Sprint 5)

  • I woke up feeling well-rested, but with the unmistakeable headache and sore throat of a cold starting to settle in. I was really keen to knock off at least one of my workouts, though. But what to do? I needed to nip this cold in the bud, too. Going all out when I’m feeling under the weather could set me back by a week or more if it resulted in more severe illness.
  • The wisest option seemed to be to take it slow. Sundays are usually my Slow Run days, but I thought that might make a better option today. But even that felt like too much cardio for a body fighting off a potential viral infection. Instead, I decided to do my second 30 min karate training slot and Lower Body workout instead, but only late afternoon or evening, after a good nap to let trusty stalwart Med-Lemon do its job.

What worked on Day 4?

  • None of the above. 😦 The Med-Lemon and nap did wonders, but the muscle aches have now set in. No exercise happening here today.

What did not work on Day 4?

  • Coming up with this big “plan” of how I was going to beat this cold. Sometimes, you just have to accept that slowing down is the only way you’re going to move forward.  Some things, like getting better, simply take time.

What am I changing and why?

  • My attitude. Yes, I am very focused on my training, and the Mommy Dojo Kanban will help. But I have to be careful not to let it override good common sense. Health comes first.

 

This entry was posted in Personal Kanban, Report Backs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

