Mommy Dojo Kanban Day 2 – So far, so Good

Today, being Wednesday, was a karate day. And for the first time today, it really felt like I was grading for brown. In tonight’s class, we focused on kumite (fighting), but instead of using the so-called number system (predefined sequences of attacks, blocks and counter-attacks), we had to come up with our own combinations within a certain set of rules. It was a bit like being allowed to drive the car without a licensed passenger for the first time. A bit scary – but very fulfilling!

But how did the Mommy Dojo Kanban help me today? 

What did I plan to do on Day 2? (Sprint 2)

  • Today was all about follow-through. Having set up the kanban only yesterday, it was critical that I use and apply it today as well to reinforce the new habit.
  • I also had to make sure I actually go to karate class. Mondays and Wednesdays are class nights, but I sometimes skip if I get home feeling too tired, or if I am drawn into household activities that need my attention before class.

What worked on Day 2?

  • I went to class and had my best class in a long time. 🙂
  • I confirmed the wisdom of the first change I made yesterday. Thanks to the two new 30-minute karate cards, I could squeeze in some practice before class. If I hadn’t done this, I would’ve gone into class feeling unprepared.

What did not work on Day 2?

  • Nothing springs to mind right now.

What am I changing and why?

  • Maybe I realized I’m missing some focused core training from the programme. Although I moved the Gym card last night, it was simply because I went there to do my upper body workout. I think that card must become more specific, e.g. Group Class or Core  Why? This card is not just about going to gym, but about doing something in particular when I’m there. I don’t want to be too specific about what that is, though. I want the flexibility to choose whichever group activity most resonates most at the time.
  • I will probably only make this change for the next 7-day cycle, starting on Monday next week, as I have now already used the Gym card.

That’s it for tonight. I did warn you that these would be quick, simple and to-the-point blog posts, right? 😉

Goodnight!

This entry was posted in Personal Kanban, Report Backs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

