Introducing – Beyond Agile, the Book

** Update: 22 June 2013 **

I’m happy to announce that the print edition of Beyond Agile is now also available from Amazon. I’m promptly sending my mother a copy, since I don’t think she will quite believe that I wrote a book until she actually has a physical copy in her hands. 😉

As for the rest of you – go get it. Now. 🙂 If you’re in the Agile and Lean community, and you would like a review copy of Beyond Agile to blog about, drop me a line.

***

I’ve been fairly quiet on the Scrumfamily blog in the past few months, posting far less often than I would like to. I can now finally share the fruits of the labours that have been keeping me away from blogging regularly.

Over the past two years, I have been writing Beyond Agile – Tales of Continuous Improvement with Jim Benson and Joanne Ho. Beyond Agile is now available for purchase in Kindle format, with the print edition to follow in six to eight weeks.

Beyond Agile is a collection of 10 real-world case studies of teams who have adopted the principles and practises of continuous improvement to manage knowledge work. These teams come from a variety of industries, and are of different shapes and sizes. Their stories provide practical insights into how you can use tools from Lean, Agile and other management methodologies to improve both the quality of your work, and the quality of your work environment.

These stories are stories of success, failure, and success again. These are real stories of real businesses creating real products and services. No story is devoid of mis-steps. We don’t provide any magic bullets, other than providing insight and understanding to the choices these teams have made.

It gives me great pleasure to give you:

Beyond Agile – Tales of Continuous Improvement.

This entry was posted in Agile Software Development, Kanban, Lean and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Introducing – Beyond Agile, the Book

  1. Anne Embrey says:

    Congratulations on your book – can’t wait to read it. After reading an article in the WSJ, I found your blog, read the whole thing, and launched an Agile board at our house Sunday. So far, my kids (8 & 5) love it. My daughter, the 5-year old, has written additional stories and faithfully moves sticky notes for us.
    Finding ways to make our lives easier, with less stuff and clutter is our first goal – being able to focus on what is most important to us is our ultimate goal. Thank you for your inspiration.

  2. Hi Anne,

    Welcome to the world of agile families. 🙂 One of my greatest joys through our experiments has been witnessing the emergence of self-organizing behaviour in our kids. Just this past week, my 10-year old gave me advice about something that made me smile.

    I had a conflict between a work meeting and a karate class. I mused that I might not make it to karate class because of the conflict, and he wisely told me: “You’ve made two commitments. You will have to drop one of them.” And I discovered that I could, since the work meeting was really a non-essential opt-in meeting, not core to my role.

    I hope you and your family enjoy learning what works for you, and have fun doing so. Our first major goal was simply bringing the chaos under control, a goal that’s been achieved for the most part. Like you, our long-term goal remains to focus on real value for ourselves. There’s no sense in filling our lives with the “doing” of lots of things. For us, it’s increasingly becoming a matter of choosing what NOT to do.

    Regards,
    Maritza

  3. Anne Embrey says:

    We’re experiencing something quite funny this week – our first week with a board. The sticky notes we’re using have begun to fall off! If I have to guess, my daughter is having a little too much fun moving tasks around.
    We’re using a trello app too – but it’s not as visible as the board leaning against the wall in our dining room.
    Looking forward to our first family meeting Sunday.

    • Yes, stickies falling off is an early problem we dealt with, too. I found if you don’t use brand-name Post-Its, they tend not to stick that well. As a result, we moved to magnetic surfaces early on – the fridge to start with, and in the last year we have a small magnetic whiteboard on our upstairs landing that is now our family board. Cut up squares of recycled office paper and budget magnets do the rest. 🙂

Leave a Reply

