Putting Personal Kanban on the Map

So here I find myself not having posted since last year. However,  I have been popping in from time to time, taking care of comments and the ever-present scourge of spam, and it has been very gratifying to see the steady flow of visitors that find their way to this blog.

Most of them arrive on the back of internet searches for  family kanban, kanban agile for kids, scrum household,  kanban board for family and any number of variations on the theme. Often, I run those same searches myself to see what my visitors saw when they found me.

And what I have found increasingly heartening is that the voices out there are multiplying. More and more people are using Personal Kanban in their personal lives and households, and more and more of those people are sharing their experiences with the world.

When I started this blog, I was one of the few people writing actively and regularly about applying Kanban to family life. In fact, the only blog dedicated to the topic I found at that time was the Personal Kanban site ran by Jim Benson and Tonianne DeMaria Barry. So to see the uptake accelerating, even to the extent where mainstream software development blogs are keen to run podcasts and live interviews on the subject, is really phenomenal.

And best of all? The first Personal Kanban book has dropped! Jim and Tonianne have combined their Lean insights and consulting experiences into a book appropriately sub-titled Mapping Work | Navigating Life. Judging by the inspirational quality of their blog resources, I am sure that an entire book on the subject is a phenomenon in itself.

To Jim and Tonianne:

Thank you for continuing to inspire my use of Personal Kanban and for putting so much of yourselves into this book. And may Personal Kanban (both the method and the book) just keep going from strength to strength.

This entry was posted in Personal Kanban and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Putting Personal Kanban on the Map

  1. Jim Benson says:

    Inspiration is a two-way street. Thank you for being so thoughtful in not only your use of Personal Kanban, but your willingness to share your experiences with other parents and families. When we were writing, on days where it seemed the book would never really be ready, your posts kept us going. So, thank you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

